top of page

Weekly update: Prime Minister addresses Munich Security Conference, White Rose Project event

Updated: May 8, 2021

Security


On 19 February, Boris Johnson addressed the Munich Security Conference. His speech encompassed a broad range of issues, including a reinvigorated trans-Atlantic relationship, the shared fight against COVID-19, military security, and challenges to suggestions that the West is in decline.

Johnson via video link at the 2021 MSC. Photo: MSC/Marc Müller via Wikimedia Commons, CC BY 3.0 DE


Asylum


The German Historical Institute London’s Dr Patrice Poutrus will be giving a seminar titled Contested Asylum: The History of the 2015 Refugee Crisis on Thursday 25 Feb at 17:30 GMT (18:30 CET). Dr Poutrus will explore Germany’s attitudes towards asylum from 1945 to the present day. Registration required.


Trade


David McAllister, chair of the EU Foreign Affairs Committee, will be discussing the economic implications of Brexit with Dr Ulrich Hopper, Director General of the German-British Chamber of Commerce, on Wednesday 24 Feb at 15:00 GMT (16:00 CET). German language. Registration required.


The White Rose Project


The White Rose Project will be streaming a live English-language reading of pamphlets produced by the Second World War resistance group Weiße Rose on Monday 22 Feb at 17:00 GMT (18:00 CET). Registration not required. Read more about the White Rose Project on our website.

Comments


bottom of page